National Coalition of Independent Scholars (NCIS)

National Coalition of Independent Scholars is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization providing professional affiliation, support services, and camaraderie to scholars outside of tenured academia. Although based in the United States, our membership and activities extend internationally, and by January 2017 NCIS Full and Associate members comprised over 200 scholars in fifteen countries in Europe, Asia, Australia and the USA. Membership is open to scholars across all disciplines. NCIS assesses the qualifications of each membership candidate for intellectual contribution, scholarly rigor, and independent status prior to acceptance. NCIS is an affiliate of the American Historical Association and a member of the The Alliance of Nonprofits.

October 1:
November award
April 1:
May award
  • NCIS Research Grants (funded by NCIS);
  • NCIS Conference Support Grants (funded by NCIS);
  • Elisabeth Eisenstein Essay Prize (jointly funded by NCIS and Margaret DeLacy)
More information on all NCIS grants and NCIS-administered grants can be found on the Grants page of this site, or contact



NCIS welcomes Marilyn J. Andrews and Chris Lezotte, among recent new members.

Seven independent scholars living in six countries recently joined NCIS, and their diverse expertise includes pharmacology, psychoanalytic literary criticism and Early Modern European History.

NCIS welcomes new members Amy Absher, Michel Accad, Lisa Cardyn, Elizabeth Everton, Thomas E. Kail, Angela Shaw-Thornburg, and Steven Williams.

NCIS is crossposting the following discussion from our Facebook page which reflects upon Julie Enzer’s article in Inside Higher Ed, “What Shall I Call Myself?”

As Enzer writes:


The independent scholar (TIS)

The Independent Scholar (TIS) is the NCIS online peer-reviewed and open access journal. All members of NCIS affiliated organizations are eligible to submit manuscripts to TIS for peer review. Check Submission and Review Guidlines.


Contact us

National Coalition of Independent Scholars